Denys Lawrence

Denys Lawrence

National President
Pacific Region

What a winter! Despite my shoulder surgery last December, I managed to get out on my telemark skis, without poles, from mid-February onward. (Please don't tell my surgeon!) I must say, I found cross country skiing without poles – particularly classic – too difficult, especially on the uphills. My goal this summer is to rebuild my shoulder strength and cardio in order to return to my accustomed level of fitness in both cross country and telemark.

As I write this, I am at Panorama Mountain Resort, taking part in a telemark seminar organized by CANSI’s Quebec region. This last-minute replacement for the cancelled InterTele event is proving to be a hit with the telemark instructors who managed to get here. I wish more of you could have come to join in on the fun and the learning. But as I mentioned, it was organized at the last minute, and I know many of you have already stored your skis and shifted to your summer pursuits. I will ski a run for all of you.

During this time in Panorama, I had the pleasure of congratulating Gilles Daigle on his overdue 2 certification as a telemark Level III instructor. Gilles has worked long and hard on this achievement, including completing a course with me in 2019. To see the happiness in his eyes when I pinned him was a highlight of my CANSI years. Way to go, Gilles!

Before I travelled to Panorama, I managed to get to Canmore, Alberta, where Jessica Stichelbout and Tricia Wilson ran successful CANSI XC Level III and IV courses. I was happy to welcome Michelle Deacon, Yan Michaud, Colin Norman and Andrew Pohl to the "Order of the Four" and thrilled to present them with their blue pins. I look forward to all four of them taking on roles within CANSI that will allow more of us to learn and ski with them. I also had the pleasure of presenting pins to the six successful candidates on the XC Level III courses. Congratulations to all of you!

By the time you read this, my skis will be summer waxed and my trail running shoes will be coated in mud. But while our thoughts turn to a relaxing summer, the real work behind the scenes at CANSI is ramping up. The technical committee will be compiling feedback from our course conductors regarding the Teaching and Technique Guides and corresponding Course Conducting Guides. Integrating this feedback into the existing documents is no small task. On behalf of all CANSI members, I extend a huge thank-you to all those involved.

Our main priority this summer will be translating all of our new material in time for the start of the next ski season. Our French-speaking members have been more than patient with us as we work to get this done, and I thank each and every one of them for their patience and understanding.

Our main priority this summer will be translating all of our new material in time for the start of the next ski season. Our French-speaking members have been more than patient with us as we work to get this done, and I thank each and every one of them for their patience and understanding.

We will also be updating our policy documents, our pro deals and our plans for a National Seminar in 2023. I look forward to the creation of our Interski teams heading for Levi, Finland, in 2023. There is a lot of work going on behind the scenes to keep CANSI moving forward. Please join me in renewing your membership in September as CANSI looks to break the 1,000-member threshold next year.

Have a great summer. See you in the fall.

Denys Lawrence, CANSI president

FaLang translation system by Faboba
CANADA
This project is funded in part by the Government of Canada
Ce projet est financé en partie par le gouvernement du Canada
MEC
CANADA
An agency of the Government of Ontario
Un organisme du gouvernement de l'Ontario

Denys Lawrence

Denys Lawrence

Président
Région Pacifique

Quel hiver ! Malgré mon opération à l’épaule en décembre dernier, j’ai réussi à faire du télémark – sans bâtons – à partir de la mi-février (s’il vous plaît, ne le dites pas à mon chirurgien !). Je dois admettre que j’ai trouvé le ski de fond sans bâtons trop difficile, particulièrement en classique et surtout dans les montées. Cet été, mon objectif est de rétablir la force de mon épaule et mon cardio afin de retrouver mon niveau de forme physique habituel en ski de fond et en télémark.

Je vous écris depuis la station de ski Panorama Mountain, où je participe au séminaire de télémark organisé par la région Québec de CANSI. Cet événement mis sur pied à la dernière minute pour remplacer InterTele annulé s’avère un beau succès auprès des moniteurs de télémark qui se sont débrouillés pour y assister. J’aurais aimé qu’un plus grand nombre d’entre vous puissent prendre part à cette activité de plaisir et d’apprentissage. Mais, comme je l’ai mentionné, ce séminaire a été organisé en toute hâte, et je sais que beaucoup de membres CANSI ont déjà rangé leurs skis et se sont tournés vers leurs activités estivales. Je vais donc faire une descente en pensant à vous tous.

Pendant ce séjour à Panorama, j’ai eu le bonheur de féliciter Gilles Daigle pour sa certification tant attendue de moniteur de télémark niveau III. Gilles a travaillé longtemps et avec acharnement dans ce but, y compris en faisant un stage avec moi en 2019. Voir briller la joie dans ses yeux quand je lui ai remis son épinglette a été un moment fort de mes années à CANSI. C’est parti, Gilles !

Avant de me rendre à Panorama, j’ai pu passer par Canmore, en Alberta, où Tricia Wilson et Jessica Stichelbout donnaient respectivement des stages de ski de fond de niveaux III et IV. J’ai été heureux d’accueillir Michelle Deacon, Yan Michaud, Colin Norman et Andrew Pohl dans l’« Ordre du Quatre » et ravi de leur présenter leur épinglette bleue. J’ai hâte qu’ils assument tous les quatre des rôles au sein de CANSI qui permettront à un nombre croissant de membres d’apprendre et de skier avec eux. J’ai également eu le plaisir de remettre des épinglettes à six candidats des stages de ski de fond niveau III. Félicitations à vous tous !

Au moment où vous lirez ces lignes, mes skis auront leur fartage de protection estivale et mes chaussures de course en sentier seront couvertes de boue. Mais pendant que nous envisageons un été relaxant, le vrai travail dans les coulisses de CANSI s’intensifie. Le Comité technique compilera les commentaires de nos formateurs concernant les Guides pédagogiques et techniques et les Guides des stages. L’intégration de ces commentaires dans les documents existants n’est pas une mince tâche. Au nom de tous les membres de CANSI, j’adresse un grand merci à toutes les personnes qui y collaborent.

Notre principale priorité cet été sera de traduire tout notre nouveau matériel à temps pour le début de la prochaine saison de ski. Nos membres francophones sont plus que patients pendant que nous continuons d’effectuer ces traductions, et je remercie chacun d’entre eux pour leur compréhension.

Nous mettrons également à jour les textes de nos politiques, nos offres Pros et notre planification pour tenir un séminaire national l'année prochaine. J’attends avec impatience la création de nos équipes Interski qui se rendront à Levi, en Finlande, en 2023. Comme vous le constatez, beaucoup de travail s’effectue en arrière-plan pour que CANSI continue d’aller de l’avant. Alors, joignez-vous à moi pour renouveler votre adhésion en septembre et aidez ainsi CANSI à dépasser la barre des 1 000 membres.

Je vous souhaite un très bel été, en espérant vous revoir cet automne.

Denys Lawrence, président de CANSI

FaLang translation system by Faboba
CANADA
This project is funded in part by the Government of Canada
Ce projet est financé en partie par le gouvernement du Canada
MEC
CANADA
An agency of the Government of Ontario
Un organisme du gouvernement de l'Ontario